Teens With a Purpose – The Youth Movement (TWP) hosted the 8th annual fundraiser gala and auction on Saturday, November 7th, at the Chrysler Museum of the Arts honoring young people in Hampton Roads in Service, Leadership and the Arts.   
Local youth development organization celebrated a year of ART with their 8th annual fundraiser & Gala at the Chrysler Museum of Art. Each year, Teens With a Purpose and its supporters, partners, parents and young people come together, to celebrate YOUTH and to collectively ensure the sustainability of the organization. This year, the organization has so much to celebrate from the Norfolk Public Art Project to the Norfolk Youth Poet Laureate program & more – 2015 has been ART-TASTIC!
Richard Andre Love, Kayla Mack and Casalm Johnson perform Human Chain as Presenters and Move Maker Nominees Join Hands
The evening began with a unique and inspiring award show during which, TWP recognized sponsors and youth as part of the 2015 Move Maker Award presentation.  During the Oscar-style award show, Hampton Roads Youth (12-18) were recognized.  These teens have made significant strides over the past year while overcoming surmountable obstacles. Many of the young people nominated for this award have never been celebrated before. This year there were over 34 Move Makers nominated from all over Hampton Roads.
This year’s keynote speaker, Clayton J. Singleton, addressed guests with a motivational speech.  Singleton has served as a motivational speaker for Norfolk Public Schools 2014-2015 Convocation at Norfolk Scope. He is an Art Teacher at Lake Taylor High School. Further, Clayton has painted public murals, won numerous awards, and produced several solo and group shows.  
Also, this year’s Youth Move Maker winners Donnovan Pollock (TWP) and Spencer Hall (Community) received the first Adam Haylock Scholarship funded by Suntrust Bank, named in memory of Executive Director, Deirdre Love’s son Adam who passed away a few years ago. In addition, due to a donation for McDonald’s of Hampton Roads, scholarships were offered to four additional youth.
Deirdre Love, Executive Director of TWP, Marvin Parker, Mentor, TWP, Shannon Kendericks, District Director, Congressman Scott Rigell, Wynter Benda, Deputy City Manager, City of Norfolk, Nicole Livas, Anchor, WAVY TV/FOX 43, and Barrett Stork, Director, Cox Communications.
The event was hosted by Nicole Livas of WAVY-TV 10 & Fox 43. Presenters and distinguished guests included: Norfolk Deputy City Manager, Wynter Benda, Congressmen Bobby Scott, Assistant Police Chief Edward Ryan, City Council Member Andy Protogyrou, Interim Superintendent Norfolk Public Schools, Dr. Michael Thornton, Emily Labows, Director of Virginia Beach Office of Cultural Affairs, Rodney Jordan, Chair of the Norfolk School Board, Jobynia Caldwell Director of Equity Affairs, Virginia Beach City Public Schools, Debra Burrell Manager at Norfolk Commission on the Arts & Humanities and Andrea Bradley Assistant Vice President GEICO Hampton Roads.
Nia Naomi Johnson, TWP Member, Suffolk
Sponsors and Supporters of the 2015 TWP Art-Tastic Gala are GEICO, Stihl, WAVY-TV/FOX 43, Veronica Jackson, Congressman & Mrs. Scott Rigell, Old Point National Bank, Suntrust Bank, Armada Hoffler, Langley Youth Programs, EVMS AIDS Resource Center, United Marketing, Norfolk Public Schools, Gethsemane Community Baptist Church, Cox Communications, Kroger, Towne Bank, McDonald’s of Hampton Roads, Virginia Beach Public Schools, Lindsey Brothers, Inc, Today We Are One, An Affair to Remember by Sazi,  Coalition of Black Women and AFRICANA VB 2016.
TWP Members Thank You! Imani Davis, Kayla Mack,  Eugneya Mae Guinn-Bailey and Indira Ealy
View all of the 2015 TWP ART-Tastic photos here
Please take a minute to fill out our quick 1 minute survey.
If you were unable and would like to contribute, you can make a donation here
Special Thanks to our event photographers – Leggwork Photography and J.A. Ramirez, Audio, Visual & Lighting Company – Elite Presentations, event decorators – Today “We” Are One and An Affair to Remember by Sazi and Graphic Designer – United Marketing Solutions.