top of page
GOTS symbol purple bg.png
  • Writer's pictureTWP

Norfolk’s Annual Crime Prevention Awards Ceremony | December 2, 2012

The City of Norfolk hosts annual Crime Prevention Awards ceremony Photography by NPD Photographer Mary Heitman

Norfolk Mayor Paul Fraim (far right) chats with NSU athletic director Marty Miller.

Nominees for the Barbara Davis Volunteer Award, from left, Karen Fox, James McDonnell, Elizabeth Burns, Thanos Polizos, Cathlina Nelson (winner), Claudell Clark, and LeVaughn Taylor.

Marty Raiss pins a ribbon on Lifetime Achievement Award winner Edith Warring, as Maravia Reid, coordinator, and Chief Mike Goldsmith watch.

Nominees for the Youth Award, from left: Deshawn Walton, a crime fighter who lives in Norfolk’s Young Terrace (winner); Janay Berry, Briesha Radar, and Jimmie Doss.

 The City of Norfolk honored several citizens at its 20th Annual Crime Prevention Awards ceremony, held October 22 at The Murray Center. The ceremony is held in partnership with the Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association of Norfolk (CPAAAN), and proceeds benefit its scholarship fund.

The ceremony honors unsung heroes who work selflessly to keep citizens safe. Those attending included city officials, private citizens, businesses, and youth who came together to celebrate successes and a safer Norfolk.

Mike Goldsmith, Norfolk’s new police chief, was keynote speaker. Jazz pianist Peter Georges, trainer in the City of Norfolk’s Department of Information Technology, provided entertainment.

Awards are presented in five categories. This year’s “Youth Award” nominees were Deshawn Walton (winner), Janay Berry, Briesha Radar, and Jimmie Doss.

Nominees for the “Group Service Award” were Teens With a Purpose (winner) and Union Mission Ministries.

Seven Norfolk citizens were nominated for the “Barbara Davis Volunteer Award:” Elizabeth Burns, Claudell Clark, Karen Fox, James McDonnell, Cathlina Nelson (winner), Thanos Polizos, and LeVaughn Taylor.

Nominees for the “City Employee Group Award” were Sherry Atkins of the Planning Dept., Karen Barnes of Fire-Rescue, Officers Courtney Smith and A. J. Stevenson; the Lakewood recreation staff; and Officers Jett Sarmiento and Miles Warren of the 2nd Precinct (winner).

“Law Enforcement Award” nominees were Officer Kimberly Cole of the 1st Patrol Division (winner), Officer Jonathan Hernandez of the 3rd Patrol Division, and Officer Carrie Maglalang of the 3rd Patrol Division.

The “Lifetime Achievement Award” was presented to Edith Warring for her many years of crime prevention through civic engagement.

Each nominee was presented a certificate;  the winners also received awards.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page